Testimonials & Reviews

4.9/5
J. Rafe Sales, MD -  - Spine Surgeon

J. Rafe Sales, MD

Spine Surgeon located in Portland, Newberg & Lake Oswego, OR

122 total reviews

J. Rafe Sales, MD always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 122 reviews with an average rating of 4.9 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about J. Rafe Sales, MD below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Randy J.
Submitted 09/04/22
I have yet to have a bad experience.
Terry C.
Submitted 08/14/22
DR. Sales explained my condition and recomened surgery. He described the procedure that was necessary to remove my ruptured disk. He uses a minimal incision to remove the bulged disk which then encourages the healing of the disk.
Michael S.
Submitted 06/30/22
This has been the best surgical experience that I have encountered. At 76 years old my back (spine) was giving me trouble standing still or walking any distances. Dr. Sales look at my MRI and noticed places where bone was pressing on nerves. He was able to release the pressure. While it has only been a few days after the surgery I can already feel the difference. This is the doctor to talk to if you are thinking about back surgery.
Taylor B.
Submitted 06/25/22
The best. All his staff from front office to surgery scheduler Cindy are great. Pa Sean is awesome to. Doesn’t rush either. Gives multiple options. Thank you so much.
Sharon S.
Submitted 06/21/22
I felt really comfortable talking with the Doctor I saw. Very thoughtful and caring.
Karen R.
Submitted 05/24/22
Discussed my continuing symptoms and decided to schedule surgery.
MiQuelle D.
Submitted 04/17/22
Great experience. Dr. Sales and Kolten are the best.
Teri N.
Submitted 04/05/22
Only specialist out of 4 that listened, sincerely cared, and did their homework on my history acting swiftly to rectify previous devastating ‘medical mishaps’. Dr. Sales has great staff and teams front to back. Saved me from losing complete faith in the medical field, which I’ve worked in for years. CHEERS!
Eileen A.
Submitted 03/23/22
I had a fine experience with Dr. Sales as well as P.A. Sean, both of whom were very considerate, cordial, and professional. Sean asked questions about my situation and did a brief evaluation of my mobility. Dr. Sales went into detailed explanation of my spine issues and options regarding same, and he provided paperwork describing what was discussed that I could take home to share with my husband. I very much appreciate having that paperwork. I highly recommend Dr. Sales and his staff!
Judy T.
Submitted 03/19/22
I met Dr. Sales the day of my consultation and the day of surgery. Both times he was patient and kind.
Darcy S.
Submitted 03/19/22
Easy to get an appointment, not too far in the future. My appointment was on time, efficiently handled by front desk, medical assistant, PA and the doctor. Each were polite and respectful. Everything was explained to me in a way I could understand, and my options were clearly explained to me.
Jack K.
Submitted 02/04/22
Everything was great
Rhoda G.
Submitted 12/16/21
I was at the end of the day so we were a little behind timewise, but the team is great! They keep me moving!
Clint C.
Submitted 10/26/21
After 18 months of horrible thigh pain, trying chiropractic, acupuncture, deep tissue massage, pt, Moxa therapy, instant relief was mine in a two hour surgery. From the receptionists, to the PA-Cs to Dr. Sales, I was treated with compassion, respect, and honesty. I hope I never have occasion to use them again, but if so, I'll be right back there.
Brent H.
Submitted 10/24/21
The care I received from Dr. Sales, his excellent P.A., Ryan and the rest of his team was extraordinary. I entered the Summit Spine clinic with a debilitating back problem, and walked out upright and pain free. This is the single best medical experience I have had in my 58 years and I am deeply grateful to Dr. Sales for this fantastic outcome.
Kim E.
Submitted 10/01/21
Dr. Sales and his assistant Sean showed a genuine interest in my issues with my back/neck. They display the care I look for with a treating office which is why I find myself reestablishing as a patient after several years. They both came in the exam room to speak to me, answered all concerns and never appeared rushed. I even forgot to ask a question so sent an email through their portal that evening and received an answer the next morning. If you need a 5 star outfit you've come to the right place.
Melissa E.
Submitted 09/30/21
Dr Sales is an absolute best Dr. he has always listened to me and took me seriously when I came to him with my issues
Betty S.
Submitted 09/29/21
Next time I would like to meet in person. I have been happy with my PA but have a little more I would like for him or dr to address.
Angel G.
Submitted 07/23/21
Courteous and professional.
Travis S.
Submitted 07/08/21
Explained positive and negatives of different procedures and entertained alternatives posited by patient with candor.