Testimonials & Reviews

4.91/5
J. Rafe Sales, MD -  - Spine Surgeon

J. Rafe Sales, MD

Spine Surgeon located in Portland, Newberg & Lake Oswego, OR

4.91/5 Star Rating
131 total reviews

J. Rafe Sales, MD always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 131 reviews with an average rating of 4.91 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about J. Rafe Sales, MD below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Candyce H.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 11/05/22
Exceptional. Shawn very patiently answered all my questions and relieved my concerns.
Fely Q.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/27/22
Dr Sales is a great doctor . He is thoroughly explained to me in Regards to my thoracic back . Give me an option if I want an epidural shot to relieve the pain on my back .
Matt M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/27/22
Compassionate, very informative.
Emma M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/24/22
Dr. Sales has helped me with two disc herniations in my lumbar spine. I have appreciated that he and his team recognize my perspective and priorities as a young, athletic person. All of my pre-op, post-op, and operation day experiences with Dr. Sales and his team have been great. Thank you for your care!
Doug W.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/24/22
Perfect as expected
Doug W.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/24/22
Perfect as expected
Jack S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/23/22
very good experience. Dr.Sale explained about the surgery and how it will be done. Dr, Sale answered all of our questions.
Reyman F.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/06/22
Totally impressed with Dr Sales and the entire staff
Gene H.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/04/22
The entire staff is welcoming
Randy J.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/04/22
I have yet to have a bad experience.
Terry C.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/14/22
DR. Sales explained my condition and recomened surgery. He described the procedure that was necessary to remove my ruptured disk. He uses a minimal incision to remove the bulged disk which then encourages the healing of the disk.
Michael S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 06/30/22
This has been the best surgical experience that I have encountered. At 76 years old my back (spine) was giving me trouble standing still or walking any distances. Dr. Sales look at my MRI and noticed places where bone was pressing on nerves. He was able to release the pressure. While it has only been a few days after the surgery I can already feel the difference. This is the doctor to talk to if you are thinking about back surgery.
Taylor B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 06/25/22
The best. All his staff from front office to surgery scheduler Cindy are great. Pa Sean is awesome to. Doesn’t rush either. Gives multiple options. Thank you so much.
Sharon S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 06/21/22
I felt really comfortable talking with the Doctor I saw. Very thoughtful and caring.
Karen R.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 05/24/22
Discussed my continuing symptoms and decided to schedule surgery.
MiQuelle D.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/17/22
Great experience. Dr. Sales and Kolten are the best.
Teri N.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/05/22
Only specialist out of 4 that listened, sincerely cared, and did their homework on my history acting swiftly to rectify previous devastating ‘medical mishaps’. Dr. Sales has great staff and teams front to back. Saved me from losing complete faith in the medical field, which I’ve worked in for years. CHEERS!
Eileen A.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/23/22
I had a fine experience with Dr. Sales as well as P.A. Sean, both of whom were very considerate, cordial, and professional. Sean asked questions about my situation and did a brief evaluation of my mobility. Dr. Sales went into detailed explanation of my spine issues and options regarding same, and he provided paperwork describing what was discussed that I could take home to share with my husband. I very much appreciate having that paperwork. I highly recommend Dr. Sales and his staff!
Judy T.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/19/22
I met Dr. Sales the day of my consultation and the day of surgery. Both times he was patient and kind.
Darcy S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/19/22
Easy to get an appointment, not too far in the future. My appointment was on time, efficiently handled by front desk, medical assistant, PA and the doctor. Each were polite and respectful. Everything was explained to me in a way I could understand, and my options were clearly explained to me.